Ofsted Links

THE DOWNS SCHOOL
Dates
Diary Dates 2016 - 17
Date Events

Wednesday 01-Mar

Cast off timetable all day
Primary school performance
6th Form House Matches
School Show

Thursday 02-Mar

Yr13 Praise Assembly                                              
World Book Day – Library
School Show

Friday 03-Mar

School Show

Monday 06-Mar

Yr10 House matches
Yr13 Crusades Conference
Yr12 Geography Trip
The National Apprenticeship Show, Years 11-13, 9am - 3pm

Tuesday 07-Mar

Head’s breakfast – Students
P3-5 Yr11 House Matches
6th Form trip to Auschwitz

Wednesday 08-Mar

Yr9 House Matches
Yrs 12 & 13 Student Support Evening

Thursday 09-Mar

Yr10 House Matches
Years 10 & 11 An Inspector Calls Theatre Trip
7pm FoDs AGM

Friday 10-Mar

9-3.45pm Science Live New Theatre Oxford

Monday 13-Mar

Yr 11 MFL Orals
2.25pm Monday Training
3.30pm 6th Form Forum

Tuesday 14-Mar

Yr 11 MFL Orals
Yr8 House Matches
RAF Careers Day
Holland Sports Tour Meeting for Parents 6-7pm

Wednesday 15-Mar

Yr 11 MFL Orals   
9-3.15pm GCSE Drama Exam – Visiting examiner

Thursday 16-Mar

Yr 11 MFL Orals
Yr11 Mentoring Day
Take a Chance trip to Vodafone
Intermediate Hangaroo/Olympiad Maths Challenge 2nd round for Yrs 12&13

Friday 17-Mar

Yr 11 MFL Orals                 
Yr10 Mock Exam Day - Art
House Assemblies

Monday 20-Mar

PE Awards Week
2.15pm School Council Meeting
German Exchange Parents Mtg
A Level History Conference

Tuesday 21-Mar


Wednesday 22-Mar

6-7.30pm Parent Forum

Thursday 23-Mar

 

Friday 24-Mar

Red Nose Day - non-uniform

Monday 27-Mar

Praise Assembly
BTEC Student-led Lunchtime Music Concert
2:25pm Monday Training
Yrs 11-13 Progress reports to parents

Tuesday 28-Mar

Extended Tutor Time for Yrs 11-13 reports            
Yr 11 Mentoring Day
9-3.15pm Dance Show Rehearsals
7-10.30pm Dance Show

Wednesday 29-Mar

Year 9 vaccinations: Tetanus, Diphtheria and Polio (Td/IPV) and Meningitis ACWY
French Exchange leave for France

Thursday 30-Mar

Year 13 Othello Trip
School Tour 9:30 - 10:30am

Friday 31-Mar

Watermill Theathre Workshop Year 10

Monday 03-Apr 

Options Feedback Day                  
Yrs 8-10 Progress Reports to parents     

Tuesday 04-Apr

Yr12 Mentoring Day                                              

Wednesday 05-Apr

Extended Tutor Time for Yrs 8-10 Reports           

Thursday 06-Apr

 

Friday 07-Apr

Last day of Term - School Closes at 1.25pm

Saturday 08-Apr

New York Trip - until 13 April
6-8pm Downland Challenge - Compton Harriers

Easter Holidays 10 April - 21 April                  

New York
Sports Tour to Holland
Year 8 Ski Trip to La Thuile, Italy
Years 11-13 Geography Iceland Trip
20th April - Music Revision Day Years 11-13 10am - 4pm
20th April - Yrs 11 & 13 Drama Revision & Rehearsals

Monday 24-Apr

8-6pm Business Students Workshop Yr11

Tuesday 25-Apr

Yr13 Mentoring Day        
Wildlife Trust Talk                                       
Sound Lockdown bells for recognition

Wednesday 26-Apr

11.25-3.15pm rehearsals for Summer Concert
7pm Summer Concert
Take a Chance trip to Vodafone

Thursday 27-Apr

Junior Maths Challenge Yrs 12&13

Friday 28-Apr

All Years District Athletics - Palmer Park, Reading

Saturday 29-Apr

9.30-3.30pm DofE Bronze Training Day

Sunday 30-Apr

Setting up for Chess competition

Monday 01-May 

Bank Holiday – School Closed
Mega Chess Finals 8.30am-7pm

Tuesday 02-May

MFL A Level Oral Exams   

Wednesday 03-May

MFL A Level Oral Exams
9-9pm – Section B Drama Exam – Yr12

Thursday 04-May

8-6pm Yr2 Business Student Workshop Yr11
Yr8 Praise Assembly
9.05-3pm Yr10 COEN to Greenham
9-3pm Yr10 Surveying Woodlands
9-4.30pm Kew Gardens – Yr7
MFL A Level Oral Exams

Friday 05-May

Yr9 Praise Assembly
MFL A Level Oral Exams
9-4.30pm Kew Gardens – Yr7                                 
German exchange arrive in England

Monday 08-May

MFL A Level Oral Exams
Yr7 House Matches
2.15pm School Council Meeting

Tuesday 09-May

9-6pm Yr10 Geography Field Trip to Swanage
MFL A Level Oral Exams
Yr8 House Matches
Yr7 Parents' Evening

Wednesday 10-May

8.45-4.15 Salter’s Festival of Chemistry – Reading University
9-3.15pm Yr9 Enterprise Event - Learn to Earn
Yr10 House Matches
MFL A level Oral Exams

Thursday 11-May

Yr11 Praise Assembly 
Yr9 House Matches                                           
Head’s breakfast – students

Friday 12-May

Yr11 last day - study leave begins (provisional)                         
German Exchange Leave

Monday 15-May

Year 12 Study Leave begins
2:25pm Monday Training
Exam Season Starts

Tuesday 16-May

British Airways Language Day - Yr9

Wednesday 17-May

6-7.30pm Parent Forum
Vaccinations HPV dose 2, Year 8 girls

Thursday 18-May

Yr7 Mentoring Day

Friday 19-May

House Team selection
French Exchange Arrive here tbc

Saturday 20-May to Sunday 21-May

DofE Practice Weekend

Monday 22-May

Yr8  Praise Assembly  

Tuesday 23-May

Yr7 Praise Assembly

Wednesday 24-May

Yr10 Praise Assembly
Yr10 Parents' Evening

Thursday 25-May

Yr9 Praise Assembly

Friday 26-May

Year 13 Leavers' Day
French Exchange Leave (TBC)

HALF TERM Spring Bank

29 May - 2 June 2017

Monday 05-Jun

All Yr11 on Exam leave
3.30pm Sixth Form Forum

Tuesday 06-Jun

Yr8 Parents' Evening

Wednesday 07-Jun

9.30am Small Schools Rising Yr7 Morning

Thursday 08-Jun

 

Friday 09-Jun

Year 12 final day of Study Leave
House Assemblies

Saturday 10-Jun

County Athletics (tbc)

Sunday 11-Jun

Downlands Dash – Compton Primary School Parents

Monday 12-Jun

Year 12 return, normal lessons resume
2.25pm Monday training 

Tuesday 13-Jun

Janior Kangaroo/Olympiad Maths Challenge 2nd round Yrs 12&13

Wednesday 14-Jun

BA Award Day – Yr9

Thursday 15-Jun

BA Award Day – Yr9
Worcester College trip 9-3pm

Friday 16-Jun

Yr7 Progress Reports to Parents
9-3pm District Athletics @ Palmer Park Yrs7-8 (TBC)

Sunday 18-Jun

Yr9 Battlefields trip CJo

Monday 19-Jun

6th Form Work Experience (all week)
Yr10 High Jump
Yr9 Battlefields Return                                                    
Spanish Exchange Students leave
German Exchange Parents Info Evening

Tuesday 20-Jun

Spanish Exchange  Arrive
Yrs7-8 Exploring Your Future
Yr9 High Jump

Wednesday 21-Jun

Sports Day Part 1 All Day – Field Events (incl. Yrs7-8 HI Jump)+1500m

Thursday 22-Jun

BA Award Yr9

Friday 23-Jun

BA Award Yr9
External 6th Form Students Induction
Yr11 Prom (TBC)

Saturday 24-Jun

DofE Assessed Weekend

Sunday 25-Jun

DofE Assessed Weekend

Monday 26-Jun

Yr12 Return
2.25pm Monday Training
6th Form Induction Day 2 until 2.15pm
House Charity Day – Beechwood & Ridgeway 
Spanish Exchange Students Leave tbc

Tuesday 27-Jun

6th Form Induction Day 3
Spanish Exchange Leave

Wednesday 28-Jun

9.15-2.30pm Rising Yr7 Induction Day (CAT4 Testing)
Sports Day Part 1 – Reserve Date                                       
The MEDEC conference - Pal

Thursday 29-Jun

Head’s Breakfast – Students
9.15-2.30pm Rising Yr7 Induction Day (CAT4 Testing)
Yr10 Mentoring Day (TBC)                                     
The MEDEC conference  Pal
7.00pm Rising Yr7 Induction Evening

Friday 30-Jun

Sports Day Part 2  – Track Events
Yr13 Prom (TBC)

Monday 03-Jul

 

House Charity Day – Aldworth and Lowbury
PDP DAY                                                                            
Biology Field Trip to Dalefort Pembrokeshire Leaves (3rd - 6th)                                                  

Tuesday 04-Jul

X Curricular Day

Wednesday 05-Jul

X Curricular Day

Thursday 06-Jul

County Youth Summer Games TBC
School Tour 9:30 - 10:30am
2.15pm Yr8 Celebrating Success Assembly 
Biology Field Trip returns                                               
German Exchange to Germany
Yr7 Parents Information Evening

Friday 07-Jul

International Day                            
Nettlecombe Georgraphy Field Trip Yr12

Monday 10-Jul

House Charity Day – Chiltern & Perborough
2:25 Monday Training
Yr12 Nettlecombe Geography Trip Returns
Yrs 8-10 Progress reports to parents

Tuesday 11-Jul

P1-4 Swimming Gala                                               

Wednesday 12-Jul

6-7.30pm Parents’ Forum
Higher Education evening (Yr12)
Sport Award Assembly
Yr12 HE Day
Year 7 Bushcraft Trip
Yr10 Celebrating Success Assembly

Thursday 13-Jul

Sport Award Assembly
Rehearsals for Performing Arts                                   
German Exchange Return
House Performing Arts

Friday 14-Jul

Sport Award Assembly
Year 7 Bushcraft Trip return
2.15pm– Yr7 Celebrating Success Assembly
International Day 

Monday 17-Jul

Sport Award Assembly
Yr9 Celebrating Success Assembly

Tuesday 18-Jul

Sport Award Assembly
1.25-2.10pm Services Charity

Wednesday 19-Jul

 

Thursday 20-Jul

 6.30pm Compton Summer Concert

Friday 21-Jul

Last Day of Term 
1.25pm Buses depart

 

 

Contact Details

Quick Links

 

Useful Links